Benque Police seize 16 pounds of weed in drug bust
October 5, 2015
SSB workers protest over withheld allowance
October 6, 2015

List of General Election candidates to date

Posted: Monday, October 5, 2015. 6:02 pm CST.

Monday, October 5th, 2015. Wellington C. Ramos: The candidates for the upcoming General Election in each constituency are as follows:bz flag

1-Toledo West
Juan Coy-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Oscar Requena-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

2-Toledo East
Eden Martinez-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Mike Espat-People’s United Party (PUP)
Will Maheia-Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

3-Stann Creek West
Walter Garbutt-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Rodwell Ferguson-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

4-Dangriga, Sarawee and Hope Creek
Frank “Papa” Mena-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Anthony Sabal-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

5-Cayo Central
Rene Montero-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Dan Silva-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

6-Cayo North East
John August-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Orlando Habet-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

7-Cayo South
Ralph Huang-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Julius Espat-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

8-Cayo North
Omar Figueroa-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Michel Chebat-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

9-Cayo West
Erwin Contreras-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Lesbia Guerra-Cocom People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

John Saldivar-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Patrick Andrews-People’s United Party (PUP)
Charles Leslie Jr.-Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

11-Belize Rural South
Manuel Heredia Jr.-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Elito Arceo-People’s United Party (PUP)
Robert Bobby Lopez Jr.-Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

12-Belize Rural North
Edmund Castro-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Lloyd Jones-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

13-Belize Rural Central
Beverly Castillo-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Dolores Balderamos-Garcia People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

Carla Barnett-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Francis Fonseca-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

15-Fort George
Roger Espejo-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Said Musa-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

16-Lake Independence
Mark King-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Cordel Hyde-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

17-Albert Division
Tracy Taegar-Panton United Democratic Party (UDP)
Paul Thompson-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

18-Pickstock Division
Wilfred Elrington-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Francis Smith-People’s United Party (PUP)
Ion Cacho-Belize Progressive Party (BPP):

19-Queen Square
Dean Barrow-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Anthony Sylvester Jr.-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

20-Collet Division
Patrick Faber-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Yasmin Shoman-People’s United Party (PUP)
Patrick Rogers-Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

21-Port Loyola Division
Anthony “Boots” Martinez-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Gilroy Usher-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

22-Mesopotamia Division
Michael Finnegan-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Dorla Vaughn-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

23-Caribbean Shores
Darrell Bradley-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Kareem Musa-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive (BPP)

24-Orange Walk South
Guadalupe Magana-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Jose Mai-People’s United Party (PUP)
Hipolito Bautista-Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

25-Orange Walk North
Gasper Vega-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Ramon Cervantes Jr.-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

26-Orange Walk East
Elodio Aragon Jr.-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Josue Carballo-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

27-Orange Walk Central
Danny Grijalva-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Johnny Briceno-People’s United Party (PUP)
Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

28-Corozal West
Angel Campos-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Ramiro Ramirez-People’s United Party (PUP)
Lucilo Teck-Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

29-Corozal South East
Evan Cowo-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Florencio Marin Jr.-People’s United Party (PUP)
Edna Doris Diaz-Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

30-Corozal North
Hugo Patt-United Democratic Party (UDP)
David Castillo-People’s United Party (PUP)
Hector Palomo-Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

31-Corozal Bay
Pablo Marin-United Democratic Party (UDP)
Gregorio Garcia Jr.-People’s United Party (PUP)
Ray Rodriguez-Belize Progressive Party (BPP)

There might be more candidates added to this list after Nomination Day. If no other candidates file their nominations by October the 15th, 2015 this list will remain as it is.

Election Day-Wednesday November 4th, 2015 Polls will be open From-7:00 A.M. to 8:00 P.M.

The counting of the ballots shall begin after the polls are closed and the results will be made available to the general public.

Indicator-Belize District have the most seats and their results will be coming out earlier than the rest of the country. Based on the results from Belize District, you can have an idea as to which party will win the election.



1-Election in Belize are normally held every five years but the Prime Minister of Belize has the constitutional power to dissolve his or her Cabinet and call early elections when he or her chooses to do so. This will be the fourth time this has happened in Belize history. In the first two times it happened both the PUP and the UDP Lost the elections. In 2012 the UDP escaped by a narrow margin. That election was called in 2012 but was due in 2013.

2-The members of the House of Representatives can also table a Vote of No Confidence in the Belize House of Representatives and if they get a majority of the elected Representatives to go along with them, then the Cabinet must be dissolved by the Prime Minister and he or she must call early elections.

3-The Prime Minister of Belize is not elected through a direct vote by the people of Belize. He or she must be the Leader of his or her party first. Then, if his or her party win the most seats in the General Elections, he or she will become the next Prime Minister.

However, if the Leader of the Party loses his or her seat in the election after they gain the majority of seats, the elected Representatives will decide from among themselves who will be the Prime Minister. That has never happened in Belize history. However, the Leader of the Party has lost before and the PUP and UDP had to elect a new Leader in the House of Representatives.

Prepared BY:

Wellington C. Ramos

Belizean Columnist



Аdvеrtіѕе wіth thе most visited news site in Веlіzе ~ Wе оffеr fullу сuѕtоmіzаblе аnd flехіblе dіgіtаl mаrkеtіng расkаgеѕ. Yоur соntеnt іѕ dеlіvеrеd іnѕtаntlу tо thоuѕаndѕ оf uѕеrѕ іn Веlіzе аnd аbrоаd! Соntасt uѕ аt [email protected] оr саll uѕ аt 501-601-0315.


© 2015, BreakingBelizeNews.com. This article is the copyrighted property of Breaking Belize News. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

  • Galen University
  • larry waight
  • Galen University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *