National Assembly holds first meeting of new term

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on LinkedIn0

Friday, November 13, 2015.  Aaron Humes Reporting: 42 of the 43 men and women who will lead Belize over the next five years gathered in Belmopan for the first sitting of the National Assembly in the new term of Prime Minister Dean Barrow and the United Democratic Party, their third consecutively.gtb-belize-national assembly

Barrow and the UDP hold a seven-seat majority over the People’s United Party (PUP), whose leader Francis Fonseca was returned as Leader of the Opposition. His term comes to an end early next year after the PUP chooses a new leader.

Michael Peyrefitte was confirmed as Speaker of the House, the first to serve back-to-back terms; Edmond Castro was named deputy again as well, while Lee Mark Chang was confirmed President of the Senate.

The PUP have renamed Lisa Shoman, Patrick Andrews and Anthony Sylvestre as their Senators while Mark Lizarraga is back as Business Senator. Rev’d Ashley Rocke is Senator for the Churches, while the Unions are yet to decide on theirs.

Governor General Sir Colville Young commended the nation for exercising their franchise in free, fair and peaceful elections and looked ahead to the changes to come, while Prime Minister Dean Barrow made a call for national unity to tackle Belize’s continuing problems and challenges.

The first working session of the House is to be held at a future date.

© 2015, This article is the copyrighted property of Breaking Belize News. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

Today's News Sponsored By:


Get the latest from Breaking Belize News anywhere, anytime

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *