Breaking: Office of the Prime Minister announces Cabinet Changes

Posted: Wednesday, October 19, 2016. 4:37 p.m. CST.



By BBN Staff: The Office of the Prime Minister has issued a press release announcing changes in the Cabinet.

According to the release, the following Cabinet changes have been made:

The Sen. Hon. Godwin Hulse becomes the new Minister of Agriculture, Forestry, Fisheries, the Environment and Sustainable Development, while also keeping the Immigration portfolio. Minister of State Hon. Dr. Omar Figueroa remains in that Ministry to focus on Forestry, Fisheries, Environment and Sustainable Development, and Minister of State Hon. Beverly Williams will continue to concentrate on Immigration.

Senator Hulse gives up the Police (Home Affairs) portfolio, which will now be assumed by the Prime Minister Rt. Hon. Dean Barrow who becomes Minister of Finance and Home Affairs. To assist the Prime Minister in this regard, the Hon. Elodio Aragon, Jr. will move from the Ministry of Youth, Sports and Culture to become Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs.

The Prime Minister relinquishes the Ministry of the Public Service, Energy and Public Utilities, which will be taken over by the Hon. Hugo Patt as Minister of Labour, Local Government, Rural Development, Public Service, Energy and Public Utilities. The Hon. Frank Mena remains Minister of State for Public Service, Energy and Public Utilities.

The Hon. Rene Montero retains the Ministry of Works, and the Hon. Edmond Castro is Minister of Transport and National Emergency Management.

The release ends by stating that “all other ministerial assignments remain the same and there are no changes to CEO positions.”

Today's News Sponsored By:
[metaslider id=26301]
[metaslider id=26328]
[metaslider id=26793]

Get the latest from Breaking Belize News anywhere, anytime

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *