Belize to pay US $18.5 Million for UHS loan agreement
November 13, 2017
James Bus Line office burglarized
November 13, 2017

Belize International Film Festival 2017

Posted: Monday, November 13, 2017. 4:25 p.m. CST.

By BBN Staff: The National Institute of Culture and History (NICH), through the Institute of Creative Arts and the Film and Media Arts Unit held the Closing Concert Awards Ceremony for the 12th Edition of the Belize International Film Festival’s Awards last night at the Bliss Center for the Performing Arts.

The evening was filled with engaging and vibrant performances by artists who had music videos that were submitted for the Festival.

Many Belizean artists trailed on the red carpet for the event.

The categories of Short Documentary, Feature Documentary, Feature Narrative, Short Film, and Music Video were complimented with awards for the Most Notable Environmental Film, Most Notable Belizean Film and the Lifetime Achievement Award for Music in Film.

The Belize International Film Festival Winners are:

Best Short Film – ON TIME, Directed by Xavier Burgin

Best Short Documentary – THE WOOD THRUSH CONNECTION, Directed by Dayna Reggero

Best Feature Documentary – MADE IN BANGKOK, Directed by Flavio Florencio

Best Feature Narrative – THE SOUND OF THINGS / EL SONIDO DE LAS COSAS, Directed by Ariel Escalante

Most Notable Environmental Film – WHALE SHARK, Directed by Sean Sullivan

Most Notable Belizean Film – ON TIME, Directed by Xavier Burgin

Best Music Video – CLASSY, Directed by J-Money

Lifetime Achievement Award for Music in Film – ANDY PALACIO

The evening concluded with dynamic closing performances by Tanya Carter and her newest release “Million” and a serenade of the guest of honor, Lynn Whitfield, by the Mighty Gerald “Lord” Rhaburn.

© 2017, This article is the copyrighted property of Breaking Belize News. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *