Mayor Wagner clarifies concerns about cheques
April 10, 2018
BBN Person of the Week: Ashanti Garcia
April 11, 2018

Farmers of the Year 2018

Posted: Wednesday, April 11, 2018. 8:45 a.m. CST.

By BBN Staff: The Ministry of Agriculture and the National Agriculture and Trade Show Committee informs the public that this year’s winners for farmers of the year 2018 in the following categories are as follows:-

1.   Male farmer of the year is Baltazar Campos of Carmelita Village in the Orange Walk District

2.   Female farmer of the year is Lorena Peralta of La Gracia Village in the Cayo District

3.   Junior farmer of the year is  Freddy Orellana of Bomba Village in the Belize District.

Candidates were nominated by the District Agriculture Offices in all districts.

Judging commenced on March 13 and ended on March 22.

The Ministry of Agriculture congratulates the winners and all the nominees for playing an integral role in food security and contributing greatly to the development of the agriculture sector in Belize.

The ministry also thanks the judges Andrew Mejia, of the Ministry of Agriculture; Martin Lindo of the Caribbean Agriculture Research & Development Institute (CARDI) and Nonato Canto of the Pesticide Control Board (PCB).

The National Agriculture and Trade Show Committee reminds the public that this year’s event is scheduled for April 27,28 and 29, 2018, under the theme “Let’s Get Growing”.

© 2018, This article is the copyrighted property of Breaking Belize News. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *