Ecumenical Junior College wins Battle of the Drum competition again!
November 18, 2019
President Jimmy Morales says Guatemala is on right track with ‘Belize’ case
November 18, 2019

DIGI/BECOL basketball tournament bounces into playoffs

Posted: Monday, November 18, 2019. 10:51 am CST.

November 17, 2019

by Karim Juan

San Ignacio Town

SSBA Secretary

The DIGI/BECOL Basketball Tournament played its last regular season games this past Friday night.  Playoffs tips off this coming weekend in all divisions.  Below are the game scores, top scorers for the games played, schedule for the upcoming playoff games and the standings at the end of the regular season.   

Friday, November 15


                        Game 1 – Sacred Heart Primary won by forfeit since Bishop Martin was a no show


                        Game 2

Under 17 Score Player Pts
Sacred Heart College 53 Arnold Frazer 10
Peter Jones 10
Kenroy “Supa G” Nunez 9
Christ for Life 32 Devin Bevans 16
Dwayne Sutherland 9



                      Game 3

Under 17 Score Player Pts
Net Rippers 48 Eliel Landero 13
Allizair Rhaburn 12
Shaarl Flowers 10
Venom 53 Ezra Martinez 19
Jayden Lopez 13
Kysslon Kissling 10


                      Game 4

Under 21 Score Player Pts
Lights Out 47 Jaylen Lennan 24
Jayden Lopez 9
Ryan “Mentes” Carbajal 8
Red Hawks 63 Jahryl Smith 23
Kareem Cardinez 11
Umelo “Goodness” Henderson 9


Saturday, November 16

On Saturday night the San Ignacio and Santa Elena Basketball Association (SSBA) hosted its first All Star Event and below are the winners of each event.

  Three Point Champion Skills Challenge Champion Free Throw Contest Champion
Under 14 Phillip Medina

St. Andrews Primary

Kennett Mayen

Faith Nazarene Primary

Kennett Mayen

Faith Nazarene Primary

Under 15 Destin Leslie

Benque Basketball

Sergio Carbajal

Benque Basketball Academy

Kishawn Usher


Under 17 Ezra Martinez


Kishawn Usher

Net Rippers

Ke-resse Diaz

Sacred Heart College

Under 21 Shain Gillett


Umelo Henderson

Red Hawks

Karl Williams


Seniors Elvis Usher Jr.



This year’s slam dunk champion was Kyron “Tut” Molina from Falcons.  In the games played, the Under 14 All Star Team defeated the Under 15 All Star Selection by 3 points, while the Under 21 All Star Team defeated the Under 17 squad by 5 points.  In the nightcap, the Over 35/Amateur All Star team defeated the Senior All Star Team by 1 point.


















Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-612-0315.


© 2019, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates