Sixteen Days of Activism launch Anti-Violence Project
November 27, 2019
Several injured in road traffic accident
November 27, 2019

Belizean awarded Commonwealth Caribbean Rhodes scholarship 2020

Posted: Wednesday, November 27, 2019. 3:42 pm CST.

By BBN Staff: Belizean Abbie Godoy was awarded the Commonwealth Caribbean Rhodes scholarship 2020. The twenty-year-old Belizean activist is a student of the University of Belize and has been recognized for various volunteer projects.

Godoy is the 1st Belizean female to be awarded this prestigious award. Godoy will pursue graduate studies at the University of Oxford in  Developmental Economics. 

Every year, the Rhodes Scholarship Selection Committee seeks young women and men of outstanding intellect, character, leadership, and commitment to service and who demonstrate a strong propensity to emerge as ‘leaders for the world’s future’. 

The Selection Committee was chaired by the Governor General of Barbados, Dame Sandra Mason, and comprised 6 other members, most of whom are former Rhodes Scholars.

The Secretary of the Commonwealth Caribbean Rhodes Scholarship Selection Committee, Peter Goldson said that 11 Caribbean nationals were shortlisted for the one scholarship.

 The scholarship continues to identify outstanding young Caribbean nationals who go on to study at the University of Oxford and become leaders at home and globally in their chosen fields.

The Rhodes Scholarship is one of the oldest scholarships in the world and has had a distinguished history.

The scholarships were established under the will of Cecil John Rhodes, a British diamond magnate and imperialist, who died in 1903.

 The scholarship is regarded as the preeminent graduate scholarship.  

 The scholarship has produced outstanding regional and global leaders.

These have included a Premier and National Hero of Jamaica (Norman Manley ’14); Chief Justice of Barbados (Sir Marston Gibson ’77), world-renown cultural theorist (Stuart Hall ’51), a Vice Chancellor of The UWI (Rex Nettleford ‘57), a poet laureate of Jamaica (Mervyn Morris ’58) and secretary general of CARICOM (Roderick Rainford ’63) 

Women became eligible for the scholarship only from 1977.

The first woman to receive the Rhodes Scholarship in the region was Evelyn O’Callaghan ’78, former Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Education, The UWI Cave Hill.

Since then, women scholars have distinguished themselves in many fields including academia and finance.


Аdvеrtіѕе wіth thе most visited news site in Веlіzе ~ Wе оffеr fullу сuѕtоmіzаblе аnd flехіblе dіgіtаl mаrkеtіng расkаgеѕ. Yоur соntеnt іѕ dеlіvеrеd іnѕtаntlу tо thоuѕаndѕ оf uѕеrѕ іn Веlіzе аnd аbrоаd! Соntасt uѕ аt [email protected] оr саll uѕ аt 501-601-0315.


© 2019, BreakingBelizeNews.com. This article is the copyrighted property of Breaking Belize News. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

  • Galen University
  • larry waight
  • Galen University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *