Father of Minister of Health and Wellness passes away
February 19, 2021
Jamaica LGBT organization welcomes ruling by Inter-American Commission of Human Rights; work still needs to be done in Belize 
February 19, 2021

Municipal and By-Election 2021: The South: Dangriga and Punta Gorda

Posted: Friday, February 19, 2021. 4:46 pm CST.

By Aaron Humes: The South has been a People’s United Party stronghold for years at the national level, but the Dangriga and Punta Gorda councils have been wildcards at best recently, especially the latter. The PUP team in Dangriga faces not only a popular incumbent in Mayor Francis Humphreys but also a challenge from the Belize People’s Front (BPF) and Chris Lewis’ United Upliftment Party. In P.G. the Belize Progressive Party has fielded a full slate that aims to topple the major parties there for the first time.

Dangriga Town

United Democratic Party: Howard Francis Humphreys, Mayor; Orelle Castillo, Gary Francisco, Aaron “Jake” Gongora, Alexander Joseph, Earth Lopez, and Albourne Marshall, councilors.                                         

People’s United Party: Robert Mariano, Mayor; Gilroy Howard Flores, John Edwin Flores, Martha Marie Flores Robinson, Austin Petillo, Jr., Liberato Teul, and Jerris Valentine, councilors.

Belize People’s Front: Rodney Nunez, Mayor; Stephen Laurie and Dwayne Sampson, councilors.

Independent (United Upliftment Party): Christopher Lewis, Mayor.

Independent: Francis Xavier Marin, councilor.

Polling stations: Polling Area 92, Sacred Heart R.C. School; Polling Area 94, Zion Adventist School; Polling Area 95, Holy Ghost Primary School and Delille Academy; Polling Area 96, Webster Building (Former Alex Shop, 41 Pen Road); Human Development Department, Benguche Pre-School. Counting Station: Stann Creek Ecumenical High School, Ecumenical Drive.

Punta Gorda Town

United Democratic Party: Hansel Warrior, Mayor; Linford Avila, Briceno Bol, Karl Cabral, Glen Logan, Beverly Roches, and Darvin Sho, councilors.

People’s United Party: Charles Selgado, Mayor; Moses Cal, Malcolm Galvez, Ulysses Guy, Mary Palacio, Roberto Luis Virez, and Arnold Llewellyn Williams, councilors.

Belize Progressive Party: Marcel Palma, Mayor: Ray Arzu, Vallen Avila, Eleazar Coc, Linston “Blues” McKenzie, Anita Nicholas, and Zipporah Supaul, councilors.

Independent: Orlando Muschamp, councilor.

Polling and Counting Stations: Polling Area 109, St. Peter Claver and St. Benedict R.C. Schools. Polling Areas 111 and 112A, Punta Gorda Methodist School. Counting Station: Toledo Community College, West Campus, Punta Gorda Town.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-612-0315.


© 2021 – 2024, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates