BNTU continues protests this week against salary cuts leading up to a strike next Monday
April 19, 2021
UEFA says all Super League clubs and players will be banned
April 19, 2021

Twelve top European football clubs announce the formation of a new Super League

  • 27

Posted: Monday, April 19, 2021. 11:17 am CST.

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: The much talked about European Super League was finally announced on Sunday night.

Twelve European clubs from Spain, England, and Italy will be joined by three more as founding members and five more will join to start the first championship in August.

The 12 clubs that announced the Super League are Atlético Madrid, Barcelona, Real Madrid, AC Milan, Inter Milan, Juventus, Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur as founding members.

Another three clubs are also said to be ready to join ahead of the inaugural season.

“Going forward, the Founding Clubs look forward to holding discussions with UEFA and FIFA to work together in partnership to deliver the best outcomes for the new League and for football as a whole,” the Super League statement said.

Real Madrid’s president Florentino Pérez is first chairman of the Super League.

“We will help football at every level and take it to its rightful place in the world,” Pérez said.

“Football is the only global sport in the world with more than four billion fans and our responsibility as big clubs is to respond to their desires.”

The Super League statement said 20 clubs will participate in the championship, with 15 Founding Clubs and a qualifying mechanism for a further five teams to qualify annually based on achievements in the prior season.

Matches will be played midweek, “with all participating clubs continuing to compete in their respective national leagues, preserving the traditional domestic match calendar which remains at the heart of the club game.”

The Super league’s initial season will start in August with 20 clubs participating in two groups of 10, playing home and away fixtures. The top three from each group automatically qualify to the quarterfinals. Teams finishing fourth and fifth will then compete in a two-legged play-off for the remaining quarterfinal positions. A two-leg knockout format will be used to reach the final at the end of May, which will be staged as a single fixture at a neutral venue.

FC Bayern, RB Leipzig and Porto are said to be the other three founding members.

The Super League said they will also have a women’s league.

“As soon as practicable after the start of the men’s competition, a corresponding women’s league will also be launched, helping to advance and develop the women’s game.”


Аdvеrtіѕе wіth thе most visited news site in Веlіzе ~ Wе оffеr fullу сuѕtоmіzаblе аnd flехіblе dіgіtаl mаrkеtіng расkаgеѕ. Yоur соntеnt іѕ dеlіvеrеd іnѕtаntlу tо thоuѕаndѕ оf uѕеrѕ іn Веlіzе аnd аbrоаd! Соntасt uѕ аt [email protected] оr саll uѕ аt 501-601-0315.


© 2021, BreakingBelizeNews.com. This article is the copyrighted property of Breaking Belize News. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

  • Galen University
  • larry waight
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.