Father’s Day Boom to Manatee Lookout Canoe Race coming up on June 20
June 10, 2021
Corozal Football Academy will be launched under agreement reached by Corozal Town Council, Corozal Sports Council and Corozal Football Association
June 10, 2021

Oscar Quiroz to defend National Time Trial Championship on Sunday as National Cycling Road Championship gets underway

Posted: Thursday, June 10, 2021. 7:27 pm CST.

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: Smart’s Oscar Quiroz is ready to defend the National Time Trial Championship as the National Cycling Road Championship starts on Sunday, June 13.

While there have been a good number of cycling races in the Belize and Cayo Districts since the lifting of COVID-19 restrictions on non-contact sports by the Ministry of Sports in May, this is the first event organized by the Cycling Federation of Belize.

According to the CFB, the race will be held on the John Smith and Airport Roads which connect the George Price and Philip Goldson Highways.

The following Sunday, June 20, the CFB will hold the National Road Race which completes the National Cycling Road Championship.

Quiroz is the 2019 Men’s National Time Trial champion and Ron Vasquez the 2019 Road Champion.

Kaya Cattouse won both the 2019 Women’s National Time Trial and Road Championships.

Quiroz won the National Time Trial Championship held on the Burrell Boom Road on June 22, 2019, in 43 minutes and 39 seconds. Edgar Nissan Arana, who was subsequently disqualified after he proved positive for EPO in an antidoping test, was second 52 seconds behind.

Robert Liam Stewart who trailed Quiroz by 1:07 was moved up to 2nd, Herman Requena (+1:19) 3rd, Gian Lino (+2:20) 4th, Darien Anderson (+2:48) 5th, Shane Jones (+2:56) 6th, Carroll Azueta (+3:37) 7th, Byron Pope (+4:24) 8th, Christopher Andrews (+4:52) 9th, and Fitzgerald ‘Palas’ Joseph (+5:13) 10th.

Vasquez is the reigning National Road Champion.

In that last National Cycling Road Championship in 2019, Arana was the actual winner, but he was disqualified because of the positive for EPO antidoping test. He was suspended from official competitive racing until April 19, 2023.

Arana won the event with a time of 4:34:59. Vasquez completed the championship in 4:35:46 but was declared the winner because of Arana’s disqualification.

Gian Lino, who had the same time like Vasquez, was moved up to second.

Fitzgerald ‘Palas’ Joseph was 3rd, Byron Pope 4th and Robert Liam Stewart 5th.

The next five were Angel Tzib (6th), Joslyn Chavarria (7th), Herman Requena (8th), Anthony Rosado (9th), and Jafari Castro (10th).


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-612-0315.


© 2021, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates