Belizean triathletes ready for World Triathlon on Sunday in Huatulco, Mexico
June 13, 2021
Paul Gamboa found safe
June 13, 2021

Oscar Quiroz, Kaya Cattouse to defend titles in National Time Trial Championship on Sunday

Posted: Sunday, June 13, 2021. 8:15 am CST.

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: Oscar Quiroz and Kaya Cattouse will be defending their National Time Trial Championship on Sunday morning.

CFB president Orson Butler said the race will be held on the John Smith from the Philip Goldson International Airport Road roundabout to the roundabout at Mile 8 on the George Price Highway at 8:00 am.

The Men’s time trial covers the route twice for 20 miles while the Women’s 10-mile time trial is exactly one lap on the John Smith.

“The Juniors start first, then the Women, and then the Elite, Masters, and U-23,” Butler said.
Quiroz won the National Time Trial Championship held on the Burrell Boom Road on June 22, 2019, in 43 minutes and 39 seconds. Edgar Nissan Arana, who was subsequently disqualified after he proved positive for EPO in an antidoping test, was second 52 seconds behind.

Robert Liam Stewart who trailed Quiroz by 1:07 was moved up to 2nd. Stewart was also the Masters Champion.
Herman Requena (+1:19) was 3rd, Gian Lino (+2:20) 4th, Darien Anderson (+2:48) 5th, Shane Jones (+2:56) 6th, Carroll Azueta (+3:37) 7th, Byron Pope (+4:24) 8th, Christopher Andrews (+4:52) 9th, and Fitzgerald ‘Palas’ Joseph (+5:13) 10th.

Kaya, who suffered cuts and bruises during a multiple-rider spill on Thursday’s race on the John Smith Road, said she’ll decide on Sunday morning if she’s defending her title.

“I still plan to,” Kaya said. “However, we’ll make the final decision on Sunday morning.”

Kaya won both the 2019 Women’s National Time Trial and Road Championships.

In 2019, Kaya completed the National Time Trial Championship on the Burrell Boom Road on June 22, 2019, in 31 minutes and 30 seconds. Nicole Gallego was second 43 seconds behind.

Alicia Thompson took third 3:09 behind and Taralee Ordonez trailed by 4:47 to finish 4th.

Gallego, Thompson, Ordonez, Fiona Humes, and Gabrielle Gabourel should challenge Kaya should she decide to hit the road on Sunday.

Robert Liam Stewart is the Masters champion. He won the 2019 20-mile National Time Trial Championship in 44:46 and was third.

Gian Lino is the reigning U-23 champion. He won the 2019 race in 45.59 over Darien Anderson (2nd) and Shane Jones (3rd).

Eric Trapp won the Men’s Junior in 27.31 followed by Derrick Chavarria and Mairon Muñoz.

Taralee Ordonez won the Women’s U-23.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-612-0315.


© 2021, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates