Twelve-year-old girl from Belmopan City reported missing
December 31, 2021
Year in review 2021 Part VIII. Obituaries
December 31, 2021

68 riders to compete in 31st Krem New Year’s Day Cycling Classic on Saturday

Posted: Friday, December 31, 2021. 6:46 pm CST.

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: Sixty-eight riders will compete in the3st Krem New Year’s Day Cycling Classic on Saturday.

Fifty-six of those Elite/U-23/Masters riders will line up at the Mexico-Belize border in Corozal to make the grueling 96-mile ride to Belize City. Twelve more, three Women and nine Junior/Youth riders, will make the 52-mile trek from Orange Walk to Belize City.

2020 Defending champion Oscar Quiroz leads the 501 Valvoline Cycling Team which also features Joslyn Chavarria Jr., his brother Derrick Chavarria, Joshua Fuller, 2020 Junior sub champion Mairon Muñoz, Shamin Burns, and Brandon Cattouse.

2018 winner Giovanni Lovell heads their Cayo rival team, G-Flow Cayo Cargo, which features Shane Jones, Shawn Codd, Tevin Chaplin, 2020 Junior champion Jyven Gonzalez, Henry Li, and Gian Lino.

The third Cayo District Team, Westrac Alliance Cycling Club, has Byron Pope as their frontman. Westrac also has Angel Tzib, Carlton Rbinson, Wasani and Jafari Castro, Eric Trapp, and Fernando Rosado.

Dwayne Wade will lead Team Cycology which includes Dwight Lopez, Carlton Robinson, Gregory “Bullet” Lovell, Engelbert Know (Al Smith) Smith, Kevon Gentle, and Kevin Budna.

Then there’s the FAL Cycling Team made up of Sherwin Roca, Ernesto Bradley, Richard Santiago, and Alvin Card.

Roque Matus leads his M&M Engineering Team of Alan Auil, Willie Chan, Carroll Devin Azueta, Ryan Willoughby, Renan Matus, and Michael Wagner Sr.

The Kulture Cycling team has two riders, namely Kenroy “Smokes” Gladden and Vallan Symns.

There’s also the Cayo District Cycling Team made up of Tariq Cano and Christian Avila.

Riding unattached, the Krem New Year’s Day race will have George Abraham Jr. Darien Anderson, Christopher Andrews, Philton Butler, Nashen Ysaguirre, Sherwin Requena, Claude Young, Tyler Trapp, Dorsey Leslie, Ethan Rancharan, Sidney Belizaire, and Troy Gabb Jr.

Additionally, the Krem Race will feature Jamaican/American Anthony Taylor and Guyanese Horace Burrowes.

In the Women’s Race, C-Ray’s 2018 champ Kaya Cattouse and Gabrielle Gabourel will be challenged by Chavarria/Western Spirits Cycling Team’s Paulita Chavarria. Champion Alicia Thompson and sub champion Nicole Gallego will not ride.

The Men Junior/Youth riders will include G-Flow Cayo Cargo’s Renan Codd, Jamar Murry, and Brandon Guerra; Chavarria/Western Spirits’ Tyler Tejeda, Dion O’Brien, Christopher Waight, and Richard Rosado; C-Ray D Banner Cycling Team’s Goran Gabourel; and unattached rider Elwin Humes.

Quiroz won the 2020 race on the Philip Goldson Highway, in three hours, 49 minutes, and two seconds (3:49:02). The record belongs to Marlon Castillo who clocked 3:29:55 in 2009.

In 2020, Joslyn Chavarria Jr was second and Richard Santiago 3rd. 2019 winner John Delong was fourth, Angel Tzib was fifth, and 2018 winner Giovanni Lovell was 6th.

In 2020, Alicia Thompson won the Women’s Race from Orange Walk to Belize City in 2:52:18, ahead of Nicole Gallego who clocked the same time.

Jyven Gonzalez won the Men’s Junior Race in 2:27:49 over Mairon Muñoz who also had the same time.

The 31st KREM New Year’s Day Cycling Classic is organized by KREM Radio under the regulations of the International Cycling Union and the Cycling Federation of Belize (CFB).

The Open Elite, U-23, and Masters’ race will start from the Belize/Mexico Border at 9:00 am.

The Women and Junior/Youth will start in front of the Town Hall in Orange Walk Town at 9:30 am and 9:35 am respectively.

The three races finish at the corner of Central American Boulevard and Mahogany Street in Belize City.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2021, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates