Travel and Leisure names Copal Tree Lodge among 14 most beautiful hotels in the world
March 28, 2022
El Salvador goes into state of emergency after record gang killings – lessons for Belize?
March 28, 2022

501 Valvoline’s Oscar Quiroz outsprints nine riders to win 4th Annual Ernest Meighan Mount Hope Cycling Classic

Posted: Monday, March 28, 2022. 11:15 am CST.

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: Oscar Quiroz, leader of the 501 Valvoline Cycling Team, outsprinted nine riders to win the 120-mile 4th Annual Ernest Meighan Mount Hope Cycling Classic on Sunday, March 27, in five hours, four minutes and 59 seconds (5:04:59).

The 501 Valvoline rider, fresh after a month’s training in the mountains of Guatemala, was able to shake off the others at the tape going into next month’s Holy Saturday Cross Country Cycling Classic as the Belizean favourite.

The 4th Annual Ernest Meighan Mount Hope Cycling Classic started in front of Leslie’s Imports in Belize City, headed to Mount Hope in Unitedville on the George Price Highway, and returned to finish at Leslie’s Imports.

Quiroz was followed by Westrac Alliance’s Jafari Castro in second and G-Flow’s Shawn Codd in third. Westrac’s Byron Pope, who initiated the final sprint, finished fourth followed by G-Flow’s Tevin Chaplin, who had won the last station prize at Hattieville, in fifth.

M&M Engineering’s Carroll Devin Azueta was sixth, Team Cycology’s Kevin Gentle finished in 7th position, Sherwin Roca of FAL Cycling Team was eighth, G-Flow’s Gian Lino rode in ninth, and Westrac’s Angel Tzib rounded off the top ten.

Westrac’s Wasani Castro rode in 11th followed by G-Flow’s Giovanni Lovell in 12th; both 3 minutes and 33 seconds behind in 5:08:32.

A twenty-man bunch rode in next, 6 minutes and 5 seconds behind led by Westrac’s Carlton Robinson (13th), G-Flow’s Jyven Gonzalez (14th), and Cyclology’s Brandon Morgan (15th).

501 Valvoline’s Brandon Cattouse and Joslyn Chavarria Jr were 17th and 18th respectively.

Two Masters followed. Unattached Fitzgerald ‘Palas’ Joseph finished 19th and M&M Engineering’s Roque Matus took the 20th position.

Tzib was the first Masters in finishing the Classic, 501 Valvoline’s Brandon Cattouse was second, and unattached Fitzgerald ‘Palas’ Joseph took third.

C Ray’s Goran Gabourel was the winner of the Junior Category.

The following is the entire list of riders, with their position, categories, teams, time, and time gaps behind the leader, who completed the race:

1 Elite II QUIROZ, Oscar Jr. 501 Valvoline Cycling Team 05:04:59

2 Elite III CASTRO, Jafari Westrac Alliance 05:04:59

3 Under 23 III CODD, Shawn G-Flow 05:04:59

4 Elite II POPE, Byron Westrac Alliance 05:04:59

5 Under 23 IV CHAPLIN, Tevin G-Flow 05:04:59

6 Elite III AZUETA, Carroll Devin M&M Engineering 05:04:59

7 Under 23 IV GENTLE, Kevin Team Cycology 05:04:59

8 Elite III ROCA, Sherwin FAL Cycling Team 05:04:59

9 Under 23 III LINO, Gian G-Flow 05:04:59

10 Masters 35+ III TZIB, Angel Westrac Alliance 05:04:59

11 Elite III CASTRO, Wasani Westrac Alliance 05:08:32 +00:3:33

12 Elite II LOVELL, Giovanni G-Flow 05:08:32

13 Elite IV ROBINSON, Carlton Westrac Alliance 05:11:04 + 00:06:05

14 Under 23 IV GONZALEZ, Jyven G-Flow 05:11:04

15 Elite III MORGAN, Brandon Team Cycology 05:11:04

16 Masters 35+ II CATTOUSE, Brandon 501 Valvoline Cycling Team 05:11:04

17 Elite III CHAVARRIA, Josyln Jr. 501 Valvoline Cycling Team 05:11:04

18 Masters 50+ III JOSEPH, Fitzgerald ‘Palas’ unattached 05:11:04

19 Masters 45+ IV MATUS, Roque M&M Engineering 05:11:04

20 Under 23 IV CHAVARRIA, Derrick 501 Valvoline Cycling Team 05:11:04

21 Masters 35+ II LOVELL, Gregory ‘Bullett’ G-Flow 05:11:04

22 Elite IV MATUS, Renan M&M Engineering 05:11:04

23 U23 V BUDNA, Shervin Team Cycology 05:11:04

24 Elite II SANTIAGO, Richard Road Rage 05:11:04

25 Elite III BRADLEY, Ernesto FAL Cycling Team 05:11:04

26 Elite III YSAGUIRRE, Nashen unattached 2 05:11:04

27 Masters 35+ III WADE, Dwayne Team Cycology 05:11:04

28 Elite IV TASHER, Tyrin unattached 1 05:11:04

29 Masters 45+ BURNS, Phillip M&M Engineering 05:11:04

30 Masters 35+ II CASTILLO, Marlon ‘Diesel’ FAL Cycling Team 05:11:04

31 Under 23 III TRAPP, Eric Westrac Alliance 05:11:04

32 Elite III FULLER, Joshua 501 Valvoline Cycling Team 05:11:04

33 Masters 50+ III LOPEZ, Dwight Team Cycology 05:11:04

34 Junior V GABOUREL, Goran C-Ray Cycling Team 05:11:32 +00:06:33

35 Masters 35+ IV MARTINEZ, Preston M&M Engineering 05:40:30 +00:35:31

36 Under 23 V REQUENA, Sherwin unattached 2 05:40:30


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2022, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates