Prices on almost everything at the grocery store are up including Pigtails
May 28, 2022
Taiwan signs Letter of Intent with  Inter-American Development Bank  to assist Belize’s economy
May 28, 2022

National Agriculture & Trade Show continues today, top farmers to be recognized at Award Ceremony this morning

Posted: Saturday, May 28, 2022. 11:15 am CST.

Photo Credit: MAFSE

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: The National Agriculture & Trade Show (NATS) continues today at the showgrounds in Belmopan. The top farmers and top performers in the Livestock and Rodeo Show will be recognized at the Awards Ceremony this morning.

The top farmers, who were sashed during Friday’s opening by Prime Minister John Briceño, will be sashed again today by Minister of Agriculture Jose Abelardo Mai during the ceremony that starts at 11:00 am.

Orlando Ek from Concepcion in the Corozal District is the Farmer of the Year. The Woman Farmer of the Year is Norma Figueroa from La Gracia in the Cayo District. The Junior Farmer of the Year is Darwin Orellana who hails from Maskall in the Belize District.

After the sashing, Minister Mai will present the three top farmers with a $3,000 cheque each from the NATS Committee.

Apart from that, according to NATS Committee Chairman Gary Ramirez, the three will receive multiple gifts from businesses including cash and gift certificates.

The Award Ceremony also includes the presentation of awards to the Minister of Agriculture Jose Abelardo Mai, Primer Minister John Briceño, and Foreign Minister Courtenay for their for his work in revamping agriculture in the country.

Mexican company SuKarne currently buying cattle from Belize will also be recognized, as well as members of the Rodeo Rodeo Livestock subcommittee, and Hugo Miranda will also be recognized by NATS Committee for his dedication and commitment in promoting Rodeo in Belize.

The top farmers will then receive gifts from Santiago Castillo, Agro Vet Jiron, Prosser Fertilizer, PCB, CARDI, Western Dairies, Belagro, and James Brodie & Co. Ltd.

Ministry of Agriculture Chief Executive Officer Servulo Baeza will then present them with plaques of recognition from the National Extension Service.

Outstanding farmer Krystle Romero from the Toledo District will also be recognized at the Awards Ceremony. Romero is the 2nd place finisher in the Women’s Farmer of the Year category and was very close in points behind Figueroa, said the NATS Committee.

The presentation to the top farmers will be followed by a musical presentation by a Mexican band.

Next, the NATS Committee will make a presentation of plaques and certificates to livestock producers.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2022, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates