Man charged this week for assaulting his ex-girlfriend during an altercation that happened several months ago
June 16, 2022
Belize is hosting 5th Women in Fisheries Forum
June 16, 2022

Belize to compete in 2022 Concacaf Under-17 Qualifiers; draw scheduled for today postponed to June 23

Posted: Thursday, June 16, 2022. 10:28 am CST.

Photo Credit: Concacaf

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: Belize is to compete in 2022 Concacaf Under-17 Qualifiers (CU17Q) from August 30 to September 8 and to that end the Football Federation of Belize (FFB) is calling the Under-16 Belize Men’s National Football Team (BMNT) to camp for Friday, June 17.

The FFB and 21 other Concacaf federations were expecting the draw on today Thursday, but Concacaf announced on Thursday that it was rescheduling the draw for next Thursday, June 23 at 11:00 am ET (9:00 am Belize).

The draw is to determine groups and pairings.

Concacaf said 22 Concacaf Member Associations, all ranked 17 and below by the current Concacaf Men’s U-17 Ranking, will compete in the CU17Q.

The 22 teams participating are: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Martinique, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Turks and Caicos Islands and US Virgin Islands.

The qualifying round robin group stage, made up of four groups, will take place from August 30 to September 8 at venues to be confirmed.

The four group winners will advance to the 2023 Concacaf U-17 Championship (CU17C), joining the top 16 ranked nations who qualified directly into the Group Stage of the CU17C.

For the June 23 draw, the teams have been placed into 5 pots according to the Concacaf Men’s U-17 ranking. Belize is in Pot 4.

The pots are as follows (listed in ranking order per pot):

Pot 1: Nicaragua, Dominican Republic, Bermuda, and Saint Lucia

Pot 2: Guyana, Puerto Rico, Antigua and Barbuda, and Saint Kitts and Nevis

Pot 3: Cayman Islands, Grenada, Aruba, and Bahamas

Pot 4: Martinique, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize, and Bonaire

Pot 5: Saint Martin, US Virgin Islands, Dominica, Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, and Turks and Caicos Islands.

Concacaf said the 22 teams will be placed into Groups A, B, C and D according to the order in which they are drawn. No more than one team of each pot per group is allowed.

Concacaf said fans may follow the draw via the Confederation’s Official App and Website, Facebook page, and YouTube channel.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-612-0315.


© 2022, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates