Police detain two young men in the shooting of Dixson Ramirez
August 31, 2022
Two Belizeans, one foreigner lead all goalscorers in Premier League of Belize
August 31, 2022

Belize face Antigua & Barbuda on Wednesday in CONCACAF Men’s U17 Qualifiers in Nicaragua

Posted: Wednesday, August 31, 2022. 9:02 am CST.

Photo Credit: FFB

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: The Under-17 Belize Men’s National Football Team (BMNT) is today playing against Antigua and Barbuda in Managua, Nicaragua in the CONCACAF Men’s U17 Qualifiers (CU17Q).

Belize’s first match of three in Group D kicks off at 4:00 pm at the Estadio Nacional, the only venue for the tournament. Nicaragua play Turks and Caicos Islands at 7:00 pm.

Belize’s second match is against hosts Nicaragua on Friday at 7:00 pm and will close against Turks and Caicos Islands on Sunday at 4:00 pm. Nicaragua and Belize times are the same.

The Football Federation of Belize said earlier that the team was in high spirits.

Only the four group winners advance to the Concacaf Men’s U-17 Championship scheduled to play in Guatemala in 2023. These four will join the top 16 ranked nations that qualified directly into the group stage of the Championship.

According to Concacaf, 19 Concacaf Member Associations, all ranked 17 and below by the current Concacaf Men’s U-17 Ranking, are competing in the CU17Q.

The qualifying round robin group stage, made up of four groups, will all take place from August 30 to September 8 in Bradenton, Florida; Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; and Managua, Nicaragua.

The 19 men’s U-17 teams participating in the Qualifiers were drawn into four groups and will play as follows:

Group A: Bermuda, Guyana, Bahamas, Bonaire, Saint Martin, British Virgin Islands

Group B: Puerto Rico, Aruba, Martinique, Anguilla, US Virgin Islands

Group C: Dominican Republic, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Cayman Islands, Dominica

Group D: Nicaragua, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Turks and Caicos Islands

Groups A and B will be based at the IMG Academy, in Bradenton, FL, while Group C will be hosted by the Dominican Republic at the Esatadio Panamericano and Group D by Nicaragua at the Estadio Nacional.

The 20 players are:


1 Orlando Jackson – Bambas – Midsouth

2 Amare Jones – Belmopan Elite – Belmopan


3 Amid Flores – Pelicans FC – Corozal

4 Sharlon Martinez – Chuck and Ducks FC – Toledo +

5 Alexis Mendez – Concepcion Consentidos FC – Corozal

6 Brandon Rogers – HUYSC – Belize

7 Dixon Gamboa – Warriors FC – Belize

8 Devin Garbutt – Midsouth Elite – Midsouth

9 Didied Gill – La Ceiba FC – Orange Walk

10 Jaheim Mena – Christ Warriors FC – Midsouth

11 Tyrus Pineda – Pomona Warriors FC – Stann Creek


12 Zyvaughn Ara – Roaring Creek FC – Cayo

13 Flayden Carter – Hattieville United YSC – Belize

14 Alvin Diaz – Esperanza Real Warriors FC – Cayo

15 Corey Hynes – Pomona Warriors FC – Stann Creek

16 Harrison Roches – Pomona Warriors – Stann Creek

17 Clifford Sanker – Corozal Elite FC – Corozal


18 Amaad Augustine – Cayo Elite FC – Cayo

19 Marvin Card – Ladyville Rising Stars FC – Belize

20 Tyrese Moody – Belmopan Elite – Belmopan


Technical Staff

Head Coach John George

Assistant Coach Daniel Smith

Assistant Coach Nicholas Ara

Fitness Coach Dennis Serano

Goalkeeper Coach Stanley Reneau

Physiotherapist Norman Koko

Kit Manager Kelsie Ciego

Manager Tyrone Young

Technical Director Philip Marin


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-612-0315.


© 2022, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates