ComPol dismisses alibi claim in San Pedro murder
January 3, 2023
International News: Travelers from China face COVID-19 testing requirements from more countries
January 3, 2023

Derrick Chavarria rides in alone to win 96-mile Krem’s New Year’s Day Cycling Classic

Posted: Tuesday, January 3, 2023. 10:41 am CST.

Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: Derrick Chavarria switched teams from 501 Valvoline to FAL Cycling Team and ran away with the 32nd Annual Krem’s New Year’s Day Cycling Classic in three hours, 54 minutes, and 48 seconds (3:54:48) according to the Cycling Federation of Belize’s official results.

Last year, Chavarria led the 96-mile race that runs from the Belize-Mexico border to Belize City on the Philip Goldson Highway, but, according to 501 Valvoline’s team plan, set it up for teammate Brandon Cattouse at the tape. This year, he was the front man for FAL and it remained that way to the finish line across from the Belize City Civic Centre on Central American Boulevard.

Chavarria had a good 26-second lead over second place Jyven Gonzalez of G-Flow (3:55:14) and 28 seconds over Lovell Cycling Team’s Giovanni Lovell (3:55:16).

Chavarria and Gonzalez were also the first two Under-23 riders to complete the race. Lovell was the first Elite rider.

501 Valvoline’s Joshua Fuller rode in 52 seconds later in 3:55:40 leading a four-man group including Derrick’s brother, Joslyn Chavarria Jr (5th), American John DeLong (6th), and Westrac Alliance’s Eric Trapp (7th). They all clocked the same time as Fuller. DeLong was the first Masters Category 1 cyclist to finish the race.

Dejuan Hyde of Rolling Shattaz-BZ Boyz was eighth riding in 6 minutes and 50 seconds behind Derrick in 4:01:38.

L39gion of Los Angeles’ Justin Williams finished 9th, all of 6 minutes and 53 seconds behind in 4:01:41.

Derrick’s ex-teammate, 501 Valvoline’s Oscar Quiroz rounded off the Top 10 eight minutes and two seconds behind. Quiroz was timed at 4:02:50.

The Cycling Federation of Belize official records say Rolling Shattaz-BZ Boyz’s Dwight Lopez was the first Masters Category 3 rider to complete the race. KULTURE/SDP’s Kent Gabourel was second and unattached rider Robert Liam Stewart was third.

According to the CFB’s official results, Team Gonz’s Keiron Ysaguirre was the Masters Categories 4/5 winner followed by Kulture/SDP’s Vallan Symms.

32 riders completed the race though five were over the time limit. 68 of 70 riders who signed up for the race started the race. Thirty-six riders didn’t complete the race.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2023, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates