International News: 17 migrants found trapped in train car in Texas
March 25, 2023
Belize represented at the 2023 Beneath the Sea Dive, Travel and Oceans Exposition
March 25, 2023

30 riders to compete in 22nd Annual BEL Junior Cross Country Classic on Sunday

Posted: Saturday, March 25, 2023. 11:17 am CST.

Photo Credit: Cycling Federation of Belize

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: Thirty cyclists will be competing in the 22nd Annual BEL Junior Cross Country Classic, organized by the Cycling Federation of Belize under the regulations of the International Cycling Union, on Sunday, March 26.

G-Flow’s Renan Codd won the race in 2022 but he won’t be on the road on Sunday as he has now moved up to the Under 23 Category.


The BEL Junior Cross Country Classic starts at the Columbus Park in San Ignacio at 8:30 a.m. The cyclists cross the Hawkesworth Bridge and head, via the George Price Highway, to Belize City. As they enter Belize City they take Lake Independence Boulevard, over the Chetumal Street Bridge to the Phillip Goldson Highway unto Princess Margaret Drive to finish in front of the Marion Jones Sports Complex.

Last year, Codd won the 21st edition which started, as per years before, at the Ferry in San Jose Succotz Village in the Cayo District at 9:00 a.m. Codd clocked 3 hours, 59 minutes, and 51 seconds (3:59:51), 3:24 ahead of C-Ray Cycling Team’s Goran Gabourel who was timed at 4:03:15.

Renan Codd won the 21st edition of the BEL Junior Cross Country Cycling Classic in 2022.

Chavarria Cycling Team’s Tyler Tejeda led a six-man group capturing third place in 4:26:08, 26:17 behind Codd. Mark Bowman Jr. was fourth, Travis Grinage finished fifth, Brandon Guerra took sixth, Delton Rojas finished seventh, and Elwin Humes rode in eighth.

This year the main contenders should include Rojas, Tejeda, Ivan Usher, Jaylen Briceño, Benito Gutierrez, Jamar Murry, Richard Rosado, Evrit Matute Jr, Jaheem Lewis, Joseph Lamb and Jahray Gladden.


Briceño won the Digi Valentine’s Tour followed by Rojas and Usher. Tejeda was fourth and Gutierrez fifth.

G-Flow’s Jaylen Briceño captured the Digi Valentine’s Tour. (Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre)

Briceño, Murry, and Gutierrez make up the G-Flow Cayo Cargo Junior Team while Lamb, Devyn Major, and Daniel Crammond will comprise the Youth Team.

Team Gonz is represented by Stephen Sylvester.

Top Flight consists of Lewis, Keith Enwright, Carmine Smith, and Devantae Bennett.

Rosado represents Team Cayo.

Matute, Rojas, Tejeda, and Usher are the Rolling Shattaz-BZ-Boyz.

The Dangriga Cycling Club sends Jerrel Martinez, Tamron Morris, and Jason Godoy Jr.

Adonis Matus is the lone cyclist for M&M Engineering.

Ashriel Belisle represents Team Joggers and Alvin Perdomo wears the C-Ray Cycling Club jersey. Travis Grinage and Antoine Banner ride unattached.

The Chavarria Cycling Club is sending five riders, namely Keon Alford, Gian Myvett, Braden Marin, Malachi Martinez, and Enan Valerio.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtі[email protected]еаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2023, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.

  • Galen University
  • larry waight
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa