Prime Minister and family pays tribute to patriarch, Tio Julio on 98th birthday
April 12, 2023
Farewell to Fitzroy: ‘The Good Lord needed a P.R. officer’
April 12, 2023

Cycling Federation of Belize releases official results of 93rd Holy Saturday Cross Country Cycling Classic, confirms Oscar Quiroz as winner in 5:43:19

Posted: Wednesday, April 12, 2023. 6:06 pm CST.

(Left to Right) Overall winners: 2nd place L39ion of Los Angeles’ Cory Williams, winner 501 Valvoline’s Oscar Quiroz Jr., and 3rd place Miami Blazers’ Jonathan Brown. (Photo Courtesy: William George Ysaguirre)

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: The Cycling Federation of Belize (CFB) took a good while but finally on Wednesday released the official results of the 93rd Holy Saturday Cross Country Cycling Classic confirming Belizean Oscar Quiroz Jr. of the 501 Valvoline team as the winner of the 139.9-mile in five hours, 43 minutes, and 19 second (5:43:19).

The 93rd Holy Saturday Cross Country Cycling Classic started at 6:00 am in Belize City, headed to San Ignacio, near the Guatemalan border, and returned to Belize City finishing just before midday at Digi Park on Barrack Road right where it had started.

Belizean American Cory Williams of L39ion of Los Angeles was second in 5:44:41, one minute and 22 seconds behind.

Quiroz’s Miami Blazers teammate (Quiroz rides internationally for the US team) Jonathan ‘Johnny’ Brown finished third with the same time as Williams.

Cross Country Cycling Classic winner Oscar Quiroz Jr. and members of his cycling team 501 Valvoline. (Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre)

American John DeLong, riding for Skyline, took fourth place in 5:49:41, 6:22 behind Quiroz. DeLong finished second in 2022.

The only Mexican in the race, Osvaldo Mora of Team Mora, rode in fifth in 5:50:07 (+ 6:48).

Sixth place was grabbed by the first Under 23 rider, Henry Li of the Rolling Shattaz-BZ Boyz. Li clocked 5:50:23 (+7:04)

US rider Shay Wright of Kelly Benefits was eight in 5:50:23 (+7:04). Wright was the second U-23 cyclist.

G-Flow’s Jyven Gonzalez claimed the eighth spot in 5:50:24 (+7:05). Gonzalez was third in the U-23 category.

Giovanni Lovell of the Lovel Cycling Team was timed at 5:50:51 (+7:32) taking ninth place.

2005 winner American Bill Elliston rounded off the Top 10 in 5:50:51 (+7:32).

The CFB’s official results show that 62 out of the 107 who started finished the 139.9 race, though only 51 finished within the time limit. Four of the 111 registered did not start the race.

Here’s is the complete list:





Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2023, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates