Association of Protected Areas Management Organizations (APAMO) to host 1st Community climate expo in San Ignacio
May 16, 2023
International News: Taiwan grants adoption rights to same-sex couples
May 16, 2023

Tyler Tejeda wins Junior Category in San Benito Cycling Classic in Peten, Guatemala topping one race, placing 2nd in the other

Posted: Tuesday, May 16, 2023. 2:07 pm CST.

Photo Courtesy: Carlo Guerra – Facebook

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: Belizean cyclist Tyler Tejeda of Rolling Shattaz-BZ Boyz riding for Team Cayo did an outstanding job this past weekend in the San Benito Cycling Classic in Peten, Guatemala winning the first race race and capturing second place in the final race to become the overall winner.

On Saturday, Tejeda won the 40-km (25 miles) Mountain Bike Junior Road Race in San Benito which is right next to Flores and Santa Elena. Tejeda clocked one hour, 38 minutes and 53 seconds (1:38:53) to win the race by two minute and 41 seconds (02:41) ahead of Guatemalan Jonatan Cus by 02:41. The third-place rider, Josué Peña, rode in 21 and 33 seconds (21:33) behind.

Then on Sunday, Tejeda took second place in the Junior cycling race behind Guatemala Kevin Rojas. Rojas, who was second in the Youth Category of the Belize Junior Cross Country behind Travis Grinage, clocked 58:06. Tejeda rode in four seconds after in 58:10, outsprinting Cus who was clocked at 58:11. Belizeans Daniel Crammond (unattached) rode in fourth in 1:05:47, 7:41 behind.

Tyler Tejeda places second in Sunday’s road race in San Benito Cycling Classic 2023 on Sunday, May 14. (Photo Credit: Jose Pedro Perez Macario – Facebook)

Tejeda was the overall junior winner in 2:37:03, 2:42 ahead of Cus who clocked 2:39:45.

On Sunday as well, Belizean cyclists swept the 50-mille Elite race in the 3rd San Benito Cycling Classic 2023 taking the top six spots. Joslyn Chavarria Jr of Team FAL (Furnished Apartments Limited) won the race which unfortunately had to be stopped after 25 miles due to heavy rains and flooding in 55 minutes and two seconds (00:55:02). Kaydine Pinelo of Cano’s Road Rage, was clocked one second behind Chavarria in 55:03.

Mairon Muñoz of 501 Valvoline Cycling Team (56:02) finished third ahead of G-Flow’s Kevin Gentle (56:23) who took fourth place. Team FAL’s Shervin Budna was fifth and unattached Belizean rider Shayle Parades completed the event in sixth place.

Belize also won the Masters Race on Sunday with M&M Engineering’s Philip Burns taking the top spot. His teammates Roque Matus (58:08), Mike Wagner (58:09), Ryan Willoughby (1:00:14), were second, third, and fifth respectively.

Matus of M&M Engineering was fifth in the Masters Mountain Bike Race on Saturday as well.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2023, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates