Belize represented at Global Health Security of the Americas conference
June 8, 2023
Belmopan Bandits re-sign captain Denmark Casey for new PLB Season
June 8, 2023

Football Federation of Belize holds National Amateur Interdistrict Championship draw on Thursday amidst discontent

Posted: Thursday, June 8, 2023. 10:27 am CST.

Photo Credit: FFB

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: The draw for the Football Federation of Belize’s (FFB) National Amateur Interdistrict Championship (NAIC) is being held on Thursday morning in Belmopan amidst some discontent because of the teams selected to compete.

This week, FFB wouldn’t release a list of the teams participating except a flyer listing unclear logos. One logo just has the letter B, another says the Toledo Football Association, and another the Cayo Football Association. When members of the media asked for the list of teams, they were told that the teams names would be disclosed after the draw on Thursday June 8. The logos on the flyer on the FFB Facebook page were made clearer on Wednesday but still no list was provided.

Complaints had been coming from Stann Creek that the Silk Grass Ballerz had been excluded. Though their logo was not in the first flyer, it was included in the second. Looks like someone convinced the NAIC organizing committee.

Initial NAIC flyer with a number of unclear team logos posted by FFB on its Facebook page. (Photo Credit: FFB)

Complaints have also been made about Orange Walk due to the inclusion of the Caribbean Rum Boys who are participating despite only competing in the Orange Walk First Division Opening Championship but not the Closing Championship. Contrary to that, the San Pedro Opening Season champs are not included.

A memo sent from the FFB Competitions Director to the Football Affiliates (District Chairmen/Regional representative) on May 16, 2023, clearly said that teams had to compete in both opening and closing championships to qualify for the NAIC.

“The OC [Organizing Committee] has determined that for the integrity of the competition, each respective club representing your district needs to have participated in the Opening and Closing season [sic] of your tournament,” the FFB memo said.

“We will not allow the practice where clubs participate in one leg of the tournament, wins and sit out the other leg and thereafter expect to represent the top team for your district.”

The memo said that that requirement is listed in the Tournament Regulations for the First Division Interdistrict Championship.

Whichever way, the FFB is proceeding with the NAIC draw this morning at 10:30 am at its headquarters in capital city Belmopan.

Going by the flyer the teams are Toledo Football Association, Caesar Ridge FC, Club Atletico, Top Shottaz, Shark Shooters, 501 Spartans, Silk Grass Ballerz, Sarteneja FC, Caribbean Rum Boys, B, Calcutta Bulls, Griga Conquerors, Cayo Football Association, Terror Squad, Napoles, Sindbad, 7 Miles, and Lake I. 




Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2023, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates