Chant ‘We’re Coming for Your Children’ by gay activists stirs controversy at Pride march in New York City
June 26, 2023
Ministry of Religious Affairs shares condolences on passing of Reverend Canon Leroy Flowers
June 26, 2023

L39ION of Los Angeles’ Cory Williams wins National Cycling Road Championship; Oscar Quiroz takes wrong turn

Posted: Monday, June 26, 2023. 5:58 pm CST.

Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: L39ION of Los Angeles Cory Williams became the National Cycling Road Champion on Sunday, June 25. Williams crossed the finish line alone in three hours, 59 minutes, and 52 seconds (3:59:52), 23 seconds ahead of Miami Blazers’ Oscar Quiroz in the 93-mile race that went from Belmopan to San Ignacio to Belize City.

Things could have turned out different, but we’ll never know. Coming into Belize City along with Williams, Quiroz took the wrong turn, heading towards the Lord Ridge Cemetery at the Faber’s Road junction instead of turning left onto Lake Independence Boulevard. On hearing shouts from the people at the turn, Williams quickly rectified but Quiroz didn’t become aware of the mistake until it was a bit too late, losing the opportunity to compete with Williams for the title. Williams sped away to the finish line by the Marion Jones Sporting Complex a few minutes later.

Quiroz said after the National Road Championship that he thought that the race was following the Holy Saturday Cross Country route and that he saw a motorcycle in the middle of the road at the start of the Lake Independence Blvd, so he continued ahead to the Lord Ridge Cemetery. He said things happen for a reason and that though he figured both he and the Federation had some responsibility, he wasn’t getting into the blame game. He said he was satisfied he had ridden a good race and was looking ahead to upcoming events.

Williams said he was looking forward to wearing the Belize National Road Champion jersey in international competitions during the coming year.

L39ION’s Justin Williams, Cory’s brother, rode in second in 4:00:11 followed by G-Flow’s Shawn Codd in third place with the same time. Quiroz had to be content with fourth place in 4:00:15.

In the Men’s Masters Category, SPD-Kulture’s Kent ‘Bob’ Gabourel completed a sweep after winning the Individual Time Trial last week. He clocked 4:15:45 and was followed by teammate Kenroy ‘Smokes’ Gladden in second and Angel Tzib in third.

L to R: CFB President Alicia Thompson, Kenroy ‘Smokes’ Gladden, SPD-Kulture’s Kent ‘Bob’ Gabourel, Angel Tzib’s teammate Carlton Robinson (Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre)

The winner in the Men’s Under 23 Category was Rollin Shattaz-BZ Boyz Henry Jason Li timed at 4:04:45. Li was fifth overall followed by last year’s winner, FAL’s Derek Chavarria (4:12:00). Chavarria was sixth in the general classification. Third place was taken by G-Flow’s Jyven Gonzalez (4:12:04). Gonzalez was seventh overall.

G-Glow’s Kevin Gentle was eight in 4:12:06.

Last year’s winner, Guovanni Lovell of Team Lovell, rode in ninth in 4:12:13. 

Carlton Robinson of Westrac Alliance rounded off the top ten in 4: 14:12.


L to R: FAL’s Derek Chavarria, Rollin Shattaz-BZ Boyz Henry Jason Li, G-Flow’s Jyven Gonzalez (Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre)

LA Sweat’s Kaya Cattouse won the 49-mile Women’s Road Championship from Belmopan to Belize City in 2:46:20. C-Ray’s Gabrielle Gabourel was second with the same time, Gonz Cycling Team’s Paulita Chavarria third (2:54:00), and Chavarria Cycling Team’s Patricia Chavarria was fourth (2:54:02) in the General Classification. In the Women’s Elite, Cattouse was first, Paulita Chavarria second, and Patricia Chavarria third. Gabourel was the Women’s Under-23 winner.

L to R: Gonz Cycling Team’s Paulita Chavarria, LA Sweat’s Kaya Cattouse, Chavarria Cycling Team’s Patricia Chavarria (Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre)

C-Ray’s Gabrielle Gabourel (Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre)

The Men’s Junior Category was dominated by G-Flow. The Cayo-based team raked the top three spots in the 49-mile race from Belmopan to Belize City. Benito Gutierrez was the winner, clocking 2:31:47. Jamal Murray rode in second in 2:31:52 and Jalen Briceño took third place in 2:38:27. Rollin Shattaz Tyler Tejeda and ITT Champion Delton Rojas were hot of his wheel finishing fourth and fifth respectively with the same time.

L to R: G-Flow’s Jamal Murray, Benito Gutierrez, Jalen Briceño (Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre)

G-Flow’s Devin Major captured the top spot in the Men’s Junior Category in 2:43:45 followed by Top Flight’s Jaheem Lewis in second (2:43:51) and Chavarria’s Enan Valerio in third position (2:43:51). 

L to R: CFB President Alicia Thompson, Top Flight’s Jaheem Lewis, G-Flow’s Devin Major, Chavarria’s Enan Valerio (Photo Credit: William George Ysaguirre)


Front: CFB President Alicia Thompson; Standing L to R: Benito Gutierrez, Kent ‘Bob’ Gabourel, Cory Williams, Gabrielle Gabourel, Henry Jason Li, Kaya Cattouse, CFB Vice President Glenford Flowers (Photo Credit: Cycling Federation of Belize)


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2023, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates