Ministries reportedly requested to cut budgets by 15%, board allowances slashed by 50%
February 18, 2021
Fishermen detained in connection with robbery investigation after getting bail and leaving court on fisheries offenses
February 18, 2021

MUNICIPAL AND BY-ELECTION 2021: The North and San Pedro prepare for municipal elections

Posted: Thursday, February 18, 2021. 4:40 pm CST.

By Aaron Humes: The People’s United Party has a firm grip on the Corozal and Orange Walk Town Councils but in the case of the latter have promoted popular Mayor Kevin Bernard to Minister of Government and area representative for Orange Walk East. After toppling popular ex-Mayor turned area representative Manuel Heredia, Junior last November, they want to complete the task of turning blue the island stronghold that got away last time after the reds lost incumbent Danny Guerrero to retirement. 

Corozal Town 

People’s United Party: Rigoberto “Rigo” Vellos, Mayor; Hilberto Clarke, Miguel Montalvo, Rodolfo Narvaez, Baldemar Pech, Jr., Otoniel Riveroll and Marleni Tapia, councillors. 

United Democratic Party: Roger Arana, Mayor; Christobal Babb, Marycelbi Barahona, Jaime Bautista, Julie Castro, Navin Ghanwani and Vanesa Vasquez, councillors.                                                       

Polling Stations: Polling Area 39, Saint Francis Xavier Roman Catholic School/Corozal Methodist School; Polling Area 40, Saint Paul Anglican School; Polling Area 41, Our Lady of Guadalupe Roman Catholic School. Counting Station: Corozal Community College, San Andres Road, Corozal Town. 

Orange Walk Town 

People’s United Party: Ladrick “Mad Bull” Sheppard, Mayor; Joesie Cantun, Cadir Escalante, Doreth Pascascio, Joanna Rodriquez, Fernando Sanchez and Allen Yu, councillors.                                                             

United Democratic Party: Orlando Castillo, Mayor; Melvin Adolphus, Shamika Bull, Estelita Carlos, Rene Escalante, Henry Gomez, and Andi Yam, councillors. 

Independent: Antonia Sanchez, Mayor. 

Polling and counting stations: Polling Area 53, San Francisco Roman Catholic School; Polling Area 54, La Inmaculada Roman Catholic School, Church Street; Polling Area 55, Chapel School, Tate Street; Polling Area 60, Louisiana Government School. Counting Station: La Inmaculada Roman Catholic School, Church Street. 

San Pedro Town 

United Democratic Party: Ruben Gonzalez, Mayor; Jazelie Azueta, Richard Cordova, Kent “Bob” Gabourel, Raul Gonzalez and Marceli McCorkle, councillors. 

People’s United Party: Gualberto “Wally” Nunez, Mayor; Dianeli Aranda, Ernesto Bardalez, Jose Castellanos, Marina Graniel Kay, Adaly Guerrero Ayuso and Johnnia Rivero Duarte, councillors. 

Polling stations: San Pedro High School, Lagoon Street, and San Pedro R.C. School. Counting station: San Pedro High School, Spiderlily Street. 


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2021, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates