Cycling Federation of Belize confirms Oscar Quiroz Jr. as winner of 93rd Holy Saturday Cross Country Cycling Classic in 5:43:19
April 12, 2023
Under-20 Belize Women’s National Football Team off to Nicaragua to compete in Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship Qualifiers
April 12, 2023

Oscar Quiroz Jr., Henry Li, Brandon Morgan, Angel Tzib, Denroy Langford, Goran Gabourel win 93rd Holy Saturday Cross Country Cycling Classic categories

Posted: Wednesday, April 12, 2023. 5:01 pm CST.

(Left to Right) Overall winners: 2nd place L39ion of Los Angeles’ Cory Williams, winner 501 Valvoline’s Oscar Quiroz Jr., and 3rd place Miami Blazers’ Jonathan Brown. (Photo Courtesy: Cycling Federation of Belize)

By Rubén Morales Iglesias: Belizean Oscar Quiroz Jr. of the 501 Valvoline team claimed the 139.9-mile in five hours, 43 minutes, and 19 seconds (5:43:19) on Holy Saturday, a feat no Belizean rider had claimed since 2018 when Justin Williams won his second title. Williams won his first in 2015. 

Prior to that Darnell Barrow won Belize’s Cycling Holy Grail in 2013 when he outsprinted Mexican Juan Pablo Magallanes.

Quiroz was also the first Elite rider to complete the race. He was followed by Cory Williams of L39ion of Los Angeles and Jonathan ‘Johnny’ Brown of the Miami Blazers. The other category winners on Holy Saturday were Henry Li, Brandon Morgan, Angel Tzib, Denroy Langford, and Goran Gabourel.

Rolling Shattaz-BZ Boyz’s Henry Li won the U-23 Category in 5:50:23 followed by Jyven Gonzalez, and Goran Gabourel. 

(Left to Right) U-23 winners: 2nd place G-Flow’s Jyven Gonzalez, winner Rolling Shattaz-BZ Boyz’s Henry Li , and 3rd place G-Flow’s Goran Gabourel. (Photo Courtesy: Melissa Cadle – Facebook)

FAL Cycling Team’s Brandon Morgan was first in the Elite Category 3 clocking 6:01:06. Wasani Castro was second and Nashen Ysaguirre third.

Angel Tzib of Westrac Alliance won the Masters 35+ in 6:01:16. 2012 winner Giovanni Choto was second and Denroy Langford third.

Denroy Langford of PMA took the Masters 4/5 Category in 6:02:45. He was also third in the Masters 35+. Langford was followed by Sherman Thomas and Bradley Morton.

G-Flow’s Goran Gabourel won the Youngest Rider Category in 5:50:51. Gabourel was 12th in the General Classification.

The CFB’s official results released on Wednesday show that 62 out of the 107 who started finished the 139.9 race, though only 51 finished within the time limit. Four of the 111 registered did not start the race.

Here’s is the list of the Top 3 in all categories:


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2023, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates