Mark Vernon remanded to prison over unlicensed ammunition
February 12, 2021
Rakeem Nathan Nunez-Roches as Belizean as punta, hudut, and rice & beans
February 12, 2021

Thea Garcia Ramirez is the new President of the National Women’s Commission

Posted: Friday, February 12, 2021. 3:04 pm CST.

By BBN Staff: The National Women’s Commission held its inaugural meeting with the newly appointed Board of Commissioners on February 11, 2021.

Minister of Human Development, Families and Indigenous Affairs Dolores Balderamos Garcia; Minister of State, Gilroy Usher and CEO Tanya Santos Neal were present to officially install the Board of Commissioners.

The newly installed Board of Commissioners will be led by the President – Thea Garcia Ramirez, Vice President – Marissa Cervantes Martin, Treasurer – Pastora Castillo, Secretary – Dorla Vaughan.

Other Commissioners include Anthony Sabal, Wendy Cabral Williams, Geovannie Brackett, Chelsea Cruz, Aurelia Cal, Kristina Romero, Major Jonathan Kellman, Dr. Lesly Perez and Ashanti Arthurs Martin. Commissioners hail from throughout the country.

The Board of Commissioners pledged to help advocate for issues related to the advancement of women; monitor the implementation and fulfillment of the standards, principles, and goals outlined in international commitments such as CEDAW, the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, the Belem Do Para Convention on eliminating Violence of Women, among others; serve as an advisory body to the Ministry with responsibility for women and gender issues; and work towards more effective and efficient planning and coordination efforts among relevant stakeholders on matters relating to women and gender.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtі[email protected]еаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-601-0315.


© 2021, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.

  • Galen University
  • larry waight
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa