Small airplane crash lands in Orange Walk
March 5, 2021
United Nations launches new roundtable initiative for countries to discuss climate change
March 5, 2021

Five councilors of the San Ignacio and Santa Elena Town Council  sworn in, Mayor missing

Posted: Friday, March 5, 2021. 6:42 pm CST.

By BBN Staff: Today, five of the six elected councilors in San Ignacio and Santa Elena were sworn in at the twin towns town council building in San Ignacio Town.

The 5 PUP councilors were sworn in by Orlando Espat from Elections and Boundaries and welcomed to their new council by the town administrator.

Missing at the swearing-in ceremony were Mayor Earl Trapp and Councillor Bernadette Fernandez.

Trapp and Fernandez were the only 2 UDP elected officials in the March 3rd municipal elections.

The Twin Towns made history in electing its first council with a UDP Mayor, 1 UDP councilor, and 5 PUP councilors.

The PUP councilors, Aaron Mai, Matthew Preston, Zahir Figueroa, Shirlene Neal, and Omar Rodriguez thanked their families, friends, and supporters.

Also present at the ceremony was Cayo North Area Representative, Michel Chebat, Cayo Central Area Representative, Alex Balona, and Cayo Northeast Area Representative, Orlando Habet.


Advertise with the mоѕt vіѕіtеd nеwѕ ѕіtе іn Belize ~ We offer fully customizable and flexible digital marketing packages. Your content is delivered instantly to thousands of users in Belize and abroad! Contact us at mаrkеtіng@brеаkіngbеlіzеnеwѕ.соm or call us at 501-612-0315.


© 2021, BreakingBelizeNews.com. Content is copyrighted and requires written permission for reprinting in online or print media. Theft of content without permission/payment is punishable by law.


  • Galen University
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • larry waight
  • Belmopan Aggregates
  • cahal pech village resort
  • Galen University
  • Shindaiwa
  • Belmopan Aggregates